Vacations and Wisdom

21st: When was your last vacation? Where was it?

Well… Thailand was approximately eight weeks ago. Or Brisbane, 7 months ago? Although that was no vacation.

And so here is where my story picks up again. On 27th September 2016 I boarded a plane to Brisbane for 1 year. On 10th March 2017 I boarded a plane from Chiange Mai to Belfast. I came ‘home’… It still hurts. I miss Brisbane, and some days I want to return. But I think about why I came back. I remember how I felt being there.

Before heading home from Australia I took a vacation to Chiange Mai, Thailand. I was there for eight days and really enjoyed it, though I was lonely. Chronically lonely. I loved walking the backstreets, eating food from the various stalls. I made the most of the hotel’s gym and pool, working on my tan before returning to the land where the sun hardly ever shines (not quite). It was restful but because I knew what lay ahead of me- and being aware there was much I didn’t know- my mind was constantly active.

 

22nd: The greatest wisdom comes from…

God. Duh. Eleanor is wise too.

If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him.- James 1:5

…because they perceived that the wisdom of God was in him to do justice.- 1 Kings 3:28

 

Leave a Reply

